My Guest Post Over at Centsable Girls…

Today I’m with Kristen over at Centsable Girls blogging on From Processed Food and Public School to Homesteading and Homeschooling. Kristen and her husband were students at a small college where my husband and I were on faculty. We really loved them. So much so, we did their marriage counseling.  HA! They now live in New York with their sweet little boy and are doing their best to live a “homesteader’s life” on their small budget. And blogging along the way! So it’s my privilege to be asked to be a small part of her great blog!

Here’s an excerpt:

Our life as ministers has required that we live on a very strict budget. I used to think the way to stick to this budget was with budget groceries. Things like boxed meals, snack mixes, and canned foods.

6 years ago I woke up one morning and my eyes were burning. I’m not talking Ben Stein-esque, “Dry…red eyes…” I mean, they were burning. Like someone had stuck a hot poker on my face. I looked in the mirror and my face was covered in the reddest, ugliest hives I have ever seen.

One day we were sitting at the dinner table and my daughter started telling a story about school. At some point in the story she said, “the counselor’s been telling me…” My red flag flew straight to the top of the warning flag pole. Why was she in the elementary school counselor’s office? What happened to get her there? How many times had she been there? WHAT was this counselor saying to my child? And WHY HAD I NOT BEEN INFORMED??? Turns out our daughter was one of several girls, “it” had happened many months before this dinner convo, and the counselor had been called in on the initial handling of the “issue” and then had consistently checked in with the girls since. But not once, not ever, had anyone from the school bothered to inform us.

And thus began a journey…

Click here to read the full story.

Leave a Reply

