Homemade Peanut Butter: Take 2

Well last month I tried to make homemade peanut butter with less-than-stellar results. Remember this?

It turned out far too thick. We couldn’t even use it for sandwiches because it tore up the bread. When I posted about it, many of you told me that I just didn’t allow it to blend long enough. I pondered whether using honey had thickened it up unnecessarily, even though I had included some oil thinking that would make it more smooth. One reader assured me I could do it with my $20 blender, and encouraged me to just let it blend longer.

So tonight I gave it another whirl (HAHAHahahahaha…{teary eyes} Oh, I crack me up!). Ahem.

Anyhow, I wasn’t about to waste my time on shelled peanuts, so I bought a bag of plain ‘ol peanuts from my health store. And I *certainly* wasn’t going to make as much as last time for fear of a similar turnout. So I only used about 1 cup.

And I started the blender.

And resisted the urge to turn it off when it didn’t seem like it was blending anything anymore.

And about 7-10 minutes later (I probably should have timed it, huh? That would have been the “experienced blogger” thing to do.), voila!

Well, gracious me! It worked. Can you see my finger print where I snuck a taste? 🙂 It was genuinely good! Shock!

I didn’t add a stitch of oil or honey. So my verdict: it’s a keeper, folks. And well worth the extra 5 minutes of blending, I say!

Thanks for encouraging me to give it another try. Ya’ll are the best! (did I just say, “ya’ll”?!?)

Happy Homesteading!

JulieAnn

 

You Might Also Like…

Homemade Bread {White or Wheat}

16 thoughts on “Homemade Peanut Butter: Take 2

    • Just peanuts! No salt. Just dump them in your food processor and start grinding. And resist the urge to turn it off too soon. I’m telling you, it works!

      • So I’m told. I haven’t tried it myself, but I have a friend who said she tried it with almonds and it worked great. Good to know, huh?

  1. It was so good to meet you this weekend! I’m very excited to try this! My husband’s wanted to make our own peanut butter for awhile now but I just figured it would be too difficult or something… AND I JUST got a (cheap) food processor this weekend too! This is all just too exciting!! Will be checking our more posts from your archive!!!

  2. I’m so glad we got to meet too! And I love that you’re going to try this. I can’t wait to hear back on how it goes-make sure to let me know.

  3. Raw peanuts or roasted? Or do you figure it matters, except as a personal taste thing? Definitely going to have to try this; it’s got to be cheaper than buying natural peanut butter, and I won’t eat the “normal” stuff anymore! Except in my peanut butter fudge, which is so far from being a healthy food it doesn’t even matter anymore, lol.

    • Either would work. My first try was with raw peanuts. This try was with dry roasted. I think the roasted made the peanut butter more savory. I’d love to hear back once you try it!

Leave a Reply

