Updates from the Homestead: Seedlings, Feeding Kids, and Honey

Life is, of course, trundling full speed ahead, experiment or not. We have a lot going on. And regardless of our best intentions, this *new* homesteading family isn’t always, necessarily living and breathing homesteading…yet. So there’s no “knock-the-world-off-its-axis” news today. Just tidbits here and there.

First, we had a flash of brilliance about our seedlings. The constant carting in and out of the boxes got old after 8 days.  I’m sure I said at least twice a day every day that I was just going to give up and buy plants to start the garden. But then one morning I was enjoying my cup o’ joe in the living room before my kids arose and realized…I was sitting in the sun! Silly me! The front of our house has a rather large window, and it dawned on me that if I got them by that window, they would get plenty of light on a daily basis.

Brilliance. Utter brilliance.

Today’s lunch was boxed mac & cheese and canned soup. I feel the need to admit that.

We found out for sure that we can’t have either bees or chickens here at the homestead (a.k.a our rental). I’m sure we snickered when we read that clause in our lease agreement on the day we signed it, but now we know why it was there! We did, however, find a local source for honey. It’s the most tastiest of honey we’ve ever tasted! That accounts for the bottle being already half-eaten. *ahem*

How’d we find it? By talking about homesteading to everyone we know. Literally. we talk about it all the time. And what we’ve discovered is there are a lot of people who are very interested in this lifestyle. They all, like us, felt like it wasn’t doable. The more we talk, the more we learn. We’re finding options outside of the traditional methods to homestead. And that excites us. Because we found this honey.

Lastly, we’ve got a friend who is joining us on this journey.  He sends us regular updates on his compost bin ideas, chickens he’s going to raise, grinding his own wheat, and the massive garden he’s planning this year. We’re happy for him. Honestly. We are! {:D}

What about you? Are you dabbling in homesteading? Diving in? Just thinking about it?

You Might Also Like…

Planting Seedlings

11 thoughts on “Updates from the Homestead: Seedlings, Feeding Kids, and Honey

  1. That friend that you talk about sure sounds – “AMAZING”! I hear that he has some convincing of his Lazymom… aka: his wife to allow some of the things to take place! But with her hanging out with you, I’m sure she will fully become indoctrinated!

    I can’t wait to get the seeds in the ground and get things all started up!

  2. I seriously laughed out loud about your rental agreement- while in public. 🙂

    Out here our first chicks will hatch on Saturday. We’re also reworking the 1/2 acre garden this year- more of what we need, less of what we don’t (pleeease, no more cucumbers!!), and I just purchased grapes, raspberry and blueberry plants. Let’s hope I don’t kill them!! You know my luck with plants, and I would really like fruit next year. *fingers crossed*!

    At least I haven’t killed a goat yet…yet also being the key word here. We’re hoping to have babies in May or June. I’m a bit nervous about that, but it will double the milk supply so we can start to gather enough for more than just daily consumption. Since I’ve never made my own cheese or yogurt, or helped an animal give birth, I’m prepared to laugh at myself (or be laughed at) A LOT. I will, of course, let you know how it goes with this city girl turned homesteader so you can laugh with me…or at least laugh at the awesome farmer’s tan that’s sure to develop this summer. 😉

    Thanks for the great post. Love the pics!

  3. My one source of bright sunlight in the house was taken over when my littlest decided she was big enough for her own room. Ella’s room is the only spot in my entire house with bright, sunlight facing windows.
    My greenhouse went away and was replaced by barbies and princesses.

  4. Being from the same area as you, we are lucky enough to have the ability to have 9 hens (yes, no rooster for us either), and thus lots of fresh eggs. We are contemplating whether or not to add to our flock –we made the ‘mistake’ of visiting day old chicks, and the ‘fever’ struck us again. Our seedlings are in and under standard shop lighting since our house doesn’t get much natural sunlight. We are excited to get the garden again this year and hope to start canning in July!
    Best of Luck!!!
    http://www.oldworldgardenfarms.wordpress.com

  5. Pingback: Homesteaders Paint « The Homestead Experiment

Leave a Reply

