Our Raised Garden Beds!

I’m so excited! I found the perfect solution to our we want a raised bed garden/we live in a rental/we can’t kill the grass dilemma!

Look at that awesome thing of beauty.

It’s a free-standing garden bed. It’s 4 ft x 2 ft., with a depth of 16 inches to allow for root growth. It’s going to be waist-high (about 3 ft. tall) so we can reach into it without bending over, and so the grass underneath won’t get killed (I hope!).

Jim over at Triple Braided Farm Products is custom making 2 of these amazing boxes for us and is set to deliver them next weekend. He also makes chicken coops so I informed him I might be calling back. If not this year, maybe next.

Anyway, I was so excited I hopped right into my typical suburban family vehicle of choice (a minivan), and went to a local garden center near my home that I’ve been eyeballing since I moved here. I determined within myself when we decided to run this experiment that I would not buy cheapo seeds.  I just think it’s not possible for them to grow quality vegetables. (That’s not based on any science, of course.) Mostly I wanted to get organic and heirloom seeds. And as I perused the catalogs that have been flooding my mailbox, the thought occurred to me that I might actually be able to get seeds at a store, and reduce the expense. Sure enough…I found what I was looking for!

I calculated the cost of the seeds I purchased today against the cost of the ones I was contemplating purchasing and I saved…a little. Not much. But I did get instant gratification. And I can now begin my winter sowing! Can’t wait! (I hope something grows.)

Happy Homesteading~

JulieAnn

You Might Also Like…

Creative Gardening

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This post is linked to:

   

22 thoughts on “Our Raised Garden Beds!

  1. Glad you are getting things going… my mother in law has had a garden for years and she gets her seeds locally… never orders off for them… glad you saved a little too!

  2. I wish I’d had the idea (and the follow-through) to build some beds like that when I was living in my rental place up in Massachusetts! I grew some things in the windows (and on the roof!), but it would have been so awesome to have containers like yours. Good luck with your planting!

    • I’d love to say it was my bright idea. But it wasn’t. But they are a great idea, aren’t they? 🙂 I can’t wait to get them!

  3. A waste high planter box is an item I can only wish for but really isn’t much of an option for me, we often have 45 – 60 day’s in a row that temperatures are in the 100’s with very low humidity levels. As such, often one day in the 110-115 degrees can kill everything in an exposed raised planter box.
    Happy gardening, keep us apprised as to how your raised planter box experiment is working out.

  4. The above-ground, raised garden bed sounds like the PERFECT answer to all your concerns – not killing the grass, renting, less back pain, yada, yada. Great idea, and it’s a BEAUTY too!

    Thanks for linking up on my Friday’s blog hop also. I think you’re the first one to use my banner image. 🙂

    • I know, great, huh?? Thanks for visiting, and thanks for offering a link up. I’ll try to come by regularly too! 🙂

  5. I’m glad to see you didn’t give up on the dream; a perfect solution.
    Raised boxes is what we plan to do (hope ours turn out as nice!) However, we have such a problem with deer, grasshoppers and short season mountain weather we’ll be using ours indoors with grow lights.
    Good luck!

  6. This is really cool!!!! I’m saving money to start growing food in my backyard…and I have a huge backyard, but the ground is not suited for growing things, too miuch shade, trees, gophers and deer 😉 I live on the central coast of California…and I’m so happy you showed a p hoto of these raised beds. This is just what I was looking for!!! I’m going to bookmark your post 🙂 Love and hugs from the ocean shores of California, Heather 🙂

  7. Pingback: Creative Gardening « The Homestead Experiment

  8. Pingback: Raised Garden Beds…a Grocery Expense? « The Homestead Experiment

  9. Just curious if this worked out for you last year? We built something similar last year, but the summer heat in Nashville killed our plants. I’m up for a do-over, though, if this was successful for you. Let me know! 🙂

    • We had a very hot summer as well, but overall it worked great! I was able to get yellow squash, sweet peas, onions, and cucumbers from these beds. I’m already making plans on what I will put in it this year. I say try it! Let me know how it goes. 🙂

      • Thanks for replying! A friend suggested drilling small holes in the bottom boards for drainage. Was drainage an issue for you? I think too much drainage was our problem last year.

      • Well, my beds have a little space between the slats. Plus I have some landscaping cloth lining the inside of the beds so it wasn’t an issue for me. But I can see that being a primary issue – either too much or not enough. The other issue that I’ve seen is the lack of ground under the beds to provide the cooling and vice-versa warming effect. I wouldn’t be surprised if that was part of the reason some of my plants died pretty quickly as soon as it started getting hot.

Leave a Reply

